The Global Energy Crunch

6:00–7:00 pm
Online Zoom Webinar

Jan.
18

As the world ramps up production after nearly two years of COVID stoppages, energy shortages are sweeping countries throughout Asia and the globe.   

Energy prices in all areas including gas, coal and petroleum have skyrocketed. The gap between energy supply and demand have resulted in factory closures and begun to affect consumers’ daily use. With low interest rates fixed by central banks, inflation on consumer commodities has spiked, exacerbating the problem.

The combination of these and other factors has led to a global energy crunch, impacting many aspects of people’s lives. The rapid deterioration has aroused worldwide concern over the post-pandemic economic recovery, global energy policies and new possibilities for renewable energy development. At the same time, many analysts are cautious about possible over-reactions to what are probably temporary shortages, especially in light of the negative effects of encouraging increased fossil fuel production.

Join our panel of energy experts for a discussion related specifically to the energy crisis in China and India and the global implications. Our experts will discuss the market dynamics behind this global phenomenon, the economic impact, and countermeasures from countries to stave off further economic catastrophe.

Date: Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Time: 6:00 pm IST / 6:30 am CST / 8:30 pm HKT/Beijing

Speakers:

Kevin Mo
Principal of iGDP (Innovative Green Development Program)
Senior Advisor, Climate Change and Energy Program of Peking University’s Energy Research Institute

Rohit Chandra
Assistant Professor, School of Public Policy, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Visiting Fellow, Centre for Policy Research

Wong Kim Yin
Group CEO, Sembcorp Industries Ltd
Former Group CEO of Singapore Power Group

Moderator: 

Kenneth Pomeranz
Faculty Director, The University of Chicago Yuen Campus in Hong Kong

Register Now!