NFT · The Brave New World of Art and Market Dynamics

6:00 pm
Zoom webinar

May.
6

With the rise of NFT (Non-fungible tokens) art values, online art and collectible marketplaces like Foundation have become a haven for digital artists to monetize and showcase their artwork. This phenomenon is rapidly expanding to the physical world as traditional auction houses like Christie’s and Sotheby’s have taken steps to merge with the virtual world by auctioning digital art and accepting crypto.

How are both traditional and new virtual platforms accelerating the value of digital art? Are digital art and collectibles genuinely here to stay?

In this second episode of the Yuen Campus /pɒp/Asia series, Lindsay Howard, Head of Community at Foundation, and Noah Davis, Head of Digital Sales from Christie’s will join Professor Randy Kroszner to explore how traditional and virtual art selling platforms are impacting the art world and changing the economy one token at a time.

Date: Thursday, May 6, 2021

Time: 6:00 pm IST/8:30 pm HKT/7:30 am CDT

REGISTER NOW!

Speakers

Lindsay Howard
Head of Community
Foundation

Noah Davis
Associate Vice President of Post-War and Contemporary Art Department
Specialist, Head of Digital Sales
Christie’s

Moderator

Professor Randy Kroszner
Governor, Federal Reserve System (2006-2009)
Deputy Dean for Executive Programs and Norman R. Bobins Professor of Economics at The University of Chicago Booth School of Business

About /pɒp/Asia

The UChicago Yuen Campus /pɒp/Asia series will address topics that originate, revolve around and affect the Asia-Pacific Region. From music and anime to tattoos and the exploding interest in crypto currencies, we’ll explore the cultural goings-on in deep corners around the region and how they are influencing the rest of the world. Read more.